RheasOfHope

one girl's thoughts on life, mental illness, eating disorder recovery, and hope.

When words don’t come, photos speak January 27, 2013

I can’t even think about what I want to write this week. It is as if words have made a mass exodus from my mind. I’m rarely at a loss for words, but this week I am. Therefore, I am going to steal the words of others…and use my own photos. These photos were all taken with a Nikon D5000 SLR.

This was taken in a back alley of the historic Murphy Theatre in Wilmington Ohio

This was taken in a back alley of the historic Murphy Theatre in Wilmington Ohio

I chose this photo because behind it were all sorts of spray painted graffiti (think anarchist symbols, curse words and all other kinds of hatred), but, on top of it all was a simple chalk drawing and the word peace. I feel like that myself sometimes. I have this permanent message running through my head of self hatred, but, in rare moments of clarity, it is as if someone has chalked self-compassion on my heart.

“The only real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes”

Marcel Proust

This photo was taken on my friends' farm in Turtlecreek township Ohio

This photo was taken on my friends’ farm in Turtlecreek township Ohio

This photo of my friends’ farm reminds me that every day is a new day…every moment is a new moment. All too often I find myself catasrophizing my recovery. I think, “Well, I engaged in behaviors. All is lost. I guess I have to stop fighting for recovery.” However, I should really think “Well, I engaged in behaviors…what can I do, right now, to get back on the path to recovery? What is the next right thing for me?” Every moment you choose to do the next right thing is a moment you gain strength, courage and the confidence you need to live a recovered life.

“Far away in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead”

Louisa May Alcott

I took this picture at the memorial wall at the site of the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial

I took this picture at the memorial wall at the site of the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial

I saw this sign, probably crafted by a child, and was immediately reminded that love is greater than all things. Even in the chaos of all that remains at the site of the bombing, this sign hangs alone on a simple chain link fence. A simple reminder that you must love yourself; loving yourself is an important step in recovery.

“Love yourself first and everything else falls into line. You really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world.”

Lucille Ball

I took this picture right as I got off a rickety old boat to get to Daufuskie Island

I took this picture right as I got off a rickety old boat to get to Daufuskie Island

Initially, I took this photo because I was struck by the state of disrepair of the pier. “How could someone let the pier just fall into the ocean?”, I wondered.  The more I thought about it, though, the more I thought of my own life. I often wonder, “How could I just let my life be overtaken by ED?”. But, then I remember, my life is my own…I am in charge of my life, my choices, my recovery. Never forget that you are in charge of your recovery. Your life is yours, not ED’s.

“Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail” 

Ralph Waldo Emerson

I took this photo at Cade's Cove in Gatlinburg TN

I took this photo at Cade’s Cove in Gatlinburg TN

 

 

 

 

I took this photo solely because I like landscape photos (if I could make a living on it, I would). I don’t have any revelation about this photo…so it just gets a quote.

“Reflect upon your present blessings — of which every man has many — not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some”

Charles Dickens

Sometimes I go to take pictures in places I probably shouldn't be. I took this photo in the empty chapel at Spring Grove Cemetery in Cincinnati

Sometimes I go to take pictures in places I probably shouldn’t be. I took this photo in the empty chapel at Spring Grove Cemetery in Cincinnati

Remember, when recovery seems daunting…God is working…“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”  (2 Corinthians 12:9). 

And always remember, your body is perfectly made my the Lord. God doesn’t make mistakes, He doesn’t make ugly, He does not want us to condemn ourselves or hate our being. He simply wants us to love and love us.

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

 

Leave a Reply

