RheasOfHope

one girl's thoughts on life, mental illness, eating disorder recovery, and hope.

Take a moment for you February 1, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — rheasofhope @ 10:22 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Whenever I need to clear my head of all the ED thoughts, anxiety and all the other stuff that bounces around in my mind…I grab my camera and head outside. I often take for granted the beauty of God’s creations as I go through daily life. I never really stop to take in the complexity of the things around me. I simply keep my head down and race to wherever it is I have to go. However, when taking photos, I am forced to to slow down. To take in the world around me as it exists that very minute. To remind me that I am part of this marvelous creation called life; and that I deserve to see not only the beauty of this creation, but the beauty in myself. To me, photography reminds me that everyone can see the world in whatever way they choose; and all of those ways have their own individual viewpoint. You can angle the shot, add or subtract color, zoom in or out, etc. Photography allows you to see the world in a way that is uniquely your own. You can then share your own unique view of the world with others.

Recently, as an act of defiance against ED, I set out to the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden to remind myself of the astounding grace and beauty that is life. Here are some of my favorite photos for the day. I hope that when you look at them, you are able to remind yourself that you are a beautiful and integral part of the complexity of life. Even in the dark moments, there is light to be found. Never forget that. There is always hope. You are worth it. Remember to be present in life and embrace the beauty with which you have been created as well as the beauty that surrounds you.
Image

Image

ImageImageImage

Psalms 104: 19-25

“He made the moon to mark the seasons, and the sun knows when to go down. You bring darkness, it becomes night, and all the beasts of the forest prowl. The lions roar for their prey and seek their food from God. The sun rises, and they steal away; they return and lie down in their dens. Then people go out to their work, to their labor until evening.How many are your works, Lord!  In wisdom you made them all;  the earth is full of your creatures. There is the sea, vast and spacious, teeming with creatures beyond number— living things both large and small.”

 

4 Responses to “Take a moment for you”

  1. That photo of the tiger is phenomenal.

  2. A Girl With Many Flaws Says:

    I agree, excellent photography skills here ! It is good that you have a way of reminding yourself of your self-worth which can too easily be forgotten with an eating disorder. Keep going, I look forward to reading more of your blog and your recovery 🙂

    • rheasofhope Says:

      Thank you for the compliments. I really appreciate you taking the time to read my blog. I agree that, all too often, eating disorders rob us of any self-worth we once felt about ourselves…making it so important to work on building up those skills again. Take care!


Leave a Reply

