RheasOfHope

one girl's thoughts on life, mental illness, eating disorder recovery, and hope.

When you must go on a short rant March 3, 2013

We’ve got to stop whispering.  People are dying.Lynn Grefe

 

As proud as I was that NEDAwareness Week and the NEDA helpline were promoted on this morning news show. As proud as I was that this program was raising awareness and educating viewers on the causes, research, funding and general overview of symptoms. As proud as I was that they actually took the time to interview NEDA’s President/CEO, Lynn Grefe. As proud as I am that they chose to interview a woman that did not fit into society’s narrow-minded, stereotypical view of EDs; by including a Latina woman who spoke out on diversity among ED suffers in terms of age, gender, race, etc. As proud as I am that it did not provide any pro-ana or pro-mia messages. As proud as I am that ED-NOS was even actually mentioned in the program….

 

I have to wonder why they ended the program with the stories they did; not to mention the dumb question the male anchor asks. After all the awareness they raised, why did they think it was a superb idea to end it by promoting an upcoming interview with a woman named Denise Austin who was visiting to hock her newest book where the biggest words on the cover are “Skinny”, “Fat Blast Diet” and a warning that “reading this book may cause: thinner waistline, toned tummy, slender thighs, and a sudden burst in confidence”. Because we have to read her book to create the societal perfect bodies as a means to attain the confidence we so desperately crave (please know that sentence was intended with my fullest amount of sarcasm). That preview was followed by a story on how you can purchase one of Princess Diana’s dresses; all of which appear to be very small. Additionally,  they failed to mention Princess Diana was bulimic and that no one in the royal family cared. They blamed her bulimia for breaking up her marriage to Prince Charles (completely ignoring the fact he was having an affair), made jokes about “food reappearing” after meals, and accused her of “wasting food”.

 

All of this leads me to question, did the producers of the show even view the segment they created on NEDAwareness week? Or, better yet, did they take a moment to let the message sink in after viewing it? Did they understand the importance of events such as NEDAwareness week? Did they stop to consider how greatly eating disorders impact the lives of those who suffer from them? Did they think about the stories they chose to follow? It may have been a complete oversight on their part. However, part of me wonders why they chose to put those particular segments right after a piece on NEDAwareness week.

 

 

And because I cannot for the life of me figure out how to embed a video (despite 2 hours of youtube tutorials, google searches, wordpress searches and FAQ visits…because I refuse to admit I cannot do something right) here is a link to the video so you can see to what I am referring.

Click on the photo or the link the view the video:

click on me to view the video

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/video/8527953-26th-annual-national-eating-disorders-awareness-week/#.UTEOFJBIuA0.facebook

Ok, rant complete.

On a side note: on April 7th I will be walking in my first ever NEDA walk in Washington DC with my cousin! I am so excited that I check the walk participant center and my airline reservations daily.

 

Romans 5:1-5 

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, let us have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And let us boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but let us also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us”

 

5 Responses to “When you must go on a short rant”

  1. I’m going to be in DC that same weekend. What are the odds of that?!

  2. All I can say is “wow”…

  3. Reblogged this on Extended Recovery and commented:
    More post Neda week thoughts…


Leave a Reply

