RheasOfHope

one girl's thoughts on life, mental illness, eating disorder recovery, and hope.

When your food gives you advice–round two March 11, 2013

Although not medically confirmed, I am fairly certain sweet tea runs through my veins where there ought to be blood. Ok, so maybe that is an exaggeration…maybe. Most of my family is from Kentucky (a town called Willailla). I feel the name of this town alone explains my preference for sweet tea; as well as how I got this latest advice from my food. Each bottle of Sweetleaf organic sweet tea has a “granny-ism” under the lid (think of it as a hybrid fortune cook and Snapple lid). My most recent granny-ism read, “Always look on the bright side of life.” My immediate thought was of Eric Idle and his Monty Python crew in kick-line formation singing in Spamalot…but I digress.

Naturally, being the overanalyzer that I am, I decided to overlook Spamalot and go for my second thought…recovery. All too often, Ed encourages us to focus on the disappointments and difficulties of life. When I would get A’s on tests, Ed would be the first one to remind me that I missed two questions. She pipes up to remind me how stupid I am, how much I need her in my life, and encourages me to engage in her favorite eating disordered behaviors. The mirror is another one of Ed’s specialties. No matter how good I feel in a particular outfit, Ed is there to quickly point of the flaws.

What I am trying to say is this, Ed will do anything in her power to keep you from seeing the bright side of your life. She knows that by keeping you from seeing the joys and blessings in your life, that she can ensnare you in her web of behaviors, lies, deceit and darkness. Ed thrives by making you turn a blind eye to your strength, your spirit, and your determination. By looking on the bright side of your life, you can quiet Ed and her constant buzzing in your ear. It becomes easier to see the uniquely magnificent qualities with which you were blessed. It becomes easier to acknowledge her opinion for what it is and then choose what is best for you…the next right thing for recovery. Today I am choosing to look on the bright side of life. Although is it pouring rain here in Cincinnati today, I am acknowledging my blessings: the woman who works at the supermarket who helped me bag my groceries, the fact that I woke up without arthritis pain, the fact that they Lord kept me safe all day today…and so on. By showing gratitude to yourself and others, you are able to truly see the bright side of life…and kick Ed to the curb.

Image

My granny-ism…and my ruby slipper nails (because the Wizard of Oz is my favorite movie)

Romans 8:28 and 31

28: And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose

31: If God is for us, who can be against us?

 

Leave a Reply

